Marta Spendowska

watercolor-pattern-marta-spendowska-pelikans-forever

Marta Spendowska is a full time illustrator, licensed surface pattern designer, and web print designer. She thinks in watercolors, inks and html. She loves pink and orange, turquoise and neon energy.

marta_spendowska2b

Her website (http://martaspendowska.com/) is a beautiful watercolor splash in itself. It includes these wise words about the watercolor medium and its connection to life:

” Painting primarily on paper or watercolor panels, I build up layers of color and water that result in mingling of shapes. I actually call it a WATERCOLOR VANITY. I won’t say it out loud, but I take pride on managing the water and color at the same time. It’s tricky, believe me. And electric at the same time.

I work with ad agencies, magazines in fashion, beauty and food market. I love what I do. And THANK YOU for commissioning me. Thanks to you I thrive.

I love painting portraits, fashion, beauty, food, animals. Somehow I’m drawn to melancholic women like Anna Karenina, Virginia Woolf, Bjork and Tilda Swinton. I like to capture the loneliness of the person, the moment s/he’s witnesses. Usually somewhat insecure.

I’ve been attracted to tragic geniuses of poets writers, thinkers, and painters for as long as I remember. The constant struggle to express their spirit and intellect influenced the way I see the world. Because of that I’m inspired by how little time we have to live and by how complicated are the relationships with each other.
The immediacy of watercolor expresses the rush I feel towards every day experiences.” – Marta Spendowska

marta_spendowska21

Leave a Reply

